What is Personal Injury Protection Insurance, and Do I Need It?
Written by greg on October 18, 2019
If you are involved in an accident, the negligent party should be held responsible for your injuries and other damages. Texas law requires all drivers to carry minimum insurance coverage including coverage for injuries and property damages. Personal Injury Protection, known as PIP, is typically included as part of every vehicle insurance policy in Texas. If you do not want to include PIP coverage, you must reject it in writing to your insurance provider. Many people are unaware of what PIP is and how it can help after an accident.
Types of Insurance Coverage
It is helpful to understand the various types of insurance coverage options available from your insurance company. Some of the most common types of insurance include:
- Liability Insurance: Liability insurance pays for the costs of medical bills and lost wages and other expenses for others you may be responsible for due to an accident. It also covers property damage and may pay for a rental car when their vehicle is in the shop for repairs. Liability insurance is a requirement in Texas.
- Collision Insurance: Collision insurance covers damages to your own vehicle in case of a collision. In general, if you take out a loan for your vehicle, the lender requires you to have collision insurance that covers damage or loss of the vehicle that is at least the amount of the loan.
- Comprehensive Insurance: Comprehensive insurance covers the costs to repair your vehicle if it gets damaged in an incident other than an accident. For instance, the policy may cover vandalism damages and damage caused by hail.
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Insurance: Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance provides protection in case you suffer injuries and damages caused by a driver without insurance or one who does not have enough insurance.
- While the law in Texas only requires you to carry liability insurance, you should protect yourself by obtaining as much coverage as possible. Texas drivers must carry a minimum of $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. This coverage is also known as 30/60/25. You must provide proof of insurance any time the police make the request, such as during a traffic stop or following an accident.
What is PIP?
Personal Injury Protection, PIP, provides extended coverage for medical expenses and lost wages. It is a type of no-fault insurance since it pays out claims regardless of which driver is at fault for the accident. It is often advisable to include PIP insurance as part of your auto policy. In Texas, PIP is optional. Although you do not have to include PIP, you must decline coverage in writing to assure that you understand your decision. PIP can reduce the number of accidents claims because it pays for expenses in cases where there could otherwise be a dispute over fault.
If you were hurt in an accident due to the fault of another you may deserve compensation for your injuries and damages. Contact our car wreck lawyers at Baumgartner Law Firm to discuss your case with a free initial evaluation.