What are the Texas Car Insurance Requirements?
Written by Greg on April 25, 2019
Accidents are quite common across the country and in Texas. According to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) a reportable car accident happens in Texas about every minute. A person is hurt in a crash about every two minutes, and one person is killed on our roadways about every two and a half hours. With accidents so common, it is likely that you will be involved in one at some time or another. Drivers must have some types of insurance in order to drive a vehicle in Texas.
Auto Insurance Requirements
Texas law requires that all drivers have insurance before they get behind the wheel. You must carry liability insurance that provides payment to other drivers for damages if you are at fault for an accident. Generally, if you have an outstanding loan for your vehicle the lender might require you to have collision and comprehensive insurance that will protect the vehicle. Other types of coverage are optional.
Liability insurance minimum requirements are $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident, and property damage of $25,000. This is commonly referred to on your insurance policy as 30/60/25. These are the minimum requirements but it is advisable to increase these amounts. You must provide proof of insurance to a member of law enforcement if you are pulled over for a traffic violation or involved in an accident. In addition, you will also need to provide your driver’s license and vehicle registration. The law now allows you to provide electronic proof rather than having to supply a paper copy.
Types of Auto Insurance in Texas
The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) oversees vehicle insurance and other types of insurance in Texas. They provide useful information about insurance coverage. There are eight main types of insurance, including:
- Medical Payments Coverage
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist
- Rental Reimbursement
The Texas Consumer Bill of Rights identifies your insurance rights and provides details about what an insurance company must disclose and how they handle insurance policies and claims.
What Happens if the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
While you are required to carry insurance, it is helpful to know what to do if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. If you have uninsured motorist insurance on your policy, this is where it will come in handy. If the other driver was negligent and responsible for the accident, you may need to take legal action to get the compensation you deserve. You may be owed money for your medical bills, future medical care, rehabilitation therapy, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more.
Unfortunately, given a recent Texas Supreme Court ruling, claims you make against your own insurer are very difficult to obtain fairness short of spending the money and time to get a verdict in court.
If you were hurt in an accident that was caused by another person’s negligence, it is best to seek guidance from an experienced Houston personal injury attorney. Your lawyer will review the case and answer your questions in a free initial consultation.
Contact Baumgartner Law Firm to discuss the details of your accident and injury today.