Recent Jail Terms for Drunk Drivers in Texas
Written by greg on September 2, 2014
There is no doubt that drunk driving can cause insurmountable damage for both individuals and communities alike. From property damage to injuries to even loss of life caused by an accident, there are many potential negative problems that can arise from drunk driving. However, one must also be aware of the criminal aspects that center on this selfish and very dangerous act.
According to Drunk Driving Prevention, there are many penalties that can arise from drink driving, such as community service, probation, the loss of your driver’s license, alcohol abuse treatment, expensive fines, and many more consequences, including outright jail time. In addition, the research also showcases that even first-time offenders may just find themselves behind bars in some cases of drunk driving.
With this in mind, it is important to understand what kind of penalties there are specifically for the State of Texas. Not only can understanding them work as a preventive measure in order to discourage drunk driving in the first place, as well as help one understand the seriousness of a DUI offense.
For Texas, penalties go by offenses, which can then dictate minimum to maximum amount of jail time, fines and penalties, license suspension, and whether or not an Interlock Ignition Device (IID) will then be required.
1st Offense: 3 to 180 days of jail time, up to $2,000 of a fine (unless a child under 15 is in the car), 90 to 365 days of license suspension, and/or no requirement of an IDD.
2nd Offense: 30 daysto 1 year, up to $4,000 of a fine (unless a child under 15 is in the car), 180 days to 2 years of a license suspension, as well as the possible requirement of an IID.
3rd Offense: 2 years in jail, up to $10,000 fine, 180 days to 2 years license suspension, and the possible requirement of an IID.
Keep in mind that these penalties are the possibilities for each offense, and each individual court and case will dictate the specifics that will arise.
In addition, it is also important to keep in mind that Texas has no window of passing time in which an offense can start over, often known as a “lookback” period.
This means that if an individual had his or her first DUI more than twenty years ago, it will still count as a prior offense. Thus, if an individual has had an offense 25 years ago, and has another one, the second will still be considered a 2nd offense and they can expect the aforementioned potential fines.
In addition, one should also be aware that in the state of Texas a DUI is considered by the blood alcohol content (BAC) level.
- Under 21 – .02
- 21 or older – .08
- Commercial – .04
Overall, it is important to understand what penalties might be expected for individuals that drive while drunk in the state of Texas. This would allow one to not only be proactive, but work to prevent potential DUI cases from occurring.
Some repeat offenders have been given very stiff sentences by both judges and jurors in Harris County, Texas.